//

About IBV

IBV is arranged in a way to best take advantage of the unique skills and passions that each member brings to the group.

Multiple projects:
IBV has groups devoted to the development of>several projects which members can elect to work on.

Sub-teams within a project:
To achieve high-level efficiency, the individual projects – the Infant Heart Monitor, for example – have certain aspects developed by teams within that group. A project manager oversees the entire project and holds accountable the team leaders who work with and manage the members working on that sub-team.

Again using the example of the Infant Heart Monitor project, a packaging team develops the models, materials, and mode of manufacture for the devices using shared constraints with the circuit team, who are responsible for the electrical aspects of the device.

A worthwhile mission
IBV uses the expertise of its group members in working to achieve the following goals:
• Product Conceptualization: The development of innovative products and technologies. Sources for innovative ideas are from students, Michigan Tech’s Intellectual Property office, faculty/staff of the university, and the surrounding community.
• Business Plan Development: Patent investigations, market research, financial analysis, venture capital development, self-employment topics, legal aspects of business/engineering and business start-up.
• Product Development: Concurrent product, process, and material design to identify optimal business solution for cost, quality, manufacturability, packaging and marketability concerns. IBV will take an idea from development to prototype and potentially begin a start-up company.
• Sustainability: Solicitation of long-term funding from industry for the Enterprise.

Quick Facts: About IBV
A multidisciplinary organization
IBV has students from more than half of the academic programs offered at Michigan Tech.

Ongoing Student Group
IBV was established in 2003.

An alternate pathway for senior design
Students may elect to complete a traditional senior design project or work in an enterprise for 3 semesters.

Truly international
IBV works with students in Central America and with several business around the world. Members have traveled to Ghana, Africa for clinical application of one of our own devices.

Board of Directors
Dr. Michael Neuman – Department Chair, Biomedical Engineering
mneuman@mtu.edu
Dr. Rober Warrington – Director, Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies
row@mtu.edu
Anne Warrington – Professor, Business Department
acwarrin@mtu.edu

Administrative
CEO
Melanie Wells
mjwells@mtu.edu

Heart Monitor Team
Administrative
Kyle Troutt – Team leader
kgtroutt@mtu.edu

Team Engineers
Colin Annelin
channeli@mtu.edu

Caitlin Bateson
cmbateso@mtu.edu

Jacob Belongia
jrbelong@mtu.edu

Evan Brest
ecbrest@mtu.edu

Andrew Clark
andrewcl@mtu.edu

Jenna Edwards
jennae@mtu.edu

Leslie LaLonde
ldlalond@mtu.edu
Garrett Mead
grmead@mtu.edu

Anna Sinclair
aesincla@mtu.edu

Brian Swanson
btswanso@mtu.edu

Kentaro Takahashi
ktakahas@mtu.edu

Nicholas Tschoeke
natschoe@mtu.edu

Ventilator Team
Administrative
Derek Mazur
damazur@mtu.edu

Project Engineers

Eric Ahnen
eaahnen@mtu.edu

Kate Boyles
klboyles@mtu.edu

Stephanie Deptula
sedeptul@mtu.edu

Jason Jamieson
jkjamies@mtu.edu

Laila Maki
lmknuutt@mtu.edu

Michael North
mjnorth@mtu.edu

Hannah Powers
hdpowers@mtu.edu

Kyle Price
kpricw@mtu.edu

Erik Wachlin
edwachli@mtu.edu

Richard Wilson
rjwilson@mtu.edu

Business Team
Administrative
Bethany Zaio – Team leader
bmzaio@mtu.edu

Team Members

Lyndsey Suyama
lmsuyama@mtu.edu

Shiwang Agarwal
shiwanga@mtu.edu

Cole Smith
colesmit@mtu.edu

Brock Treankler
bdtreank@mtu.edu

Caroline Magnuson
cemagnus@mtu.edu

Colin Putters
ctputter@mtu.edu